Underground Film Journal

Posted In » Indie Film News

The Social Network Tops 2010 Online Film Critics Society Awards

By Mike Everleth ⋅ January 3, 2011

The Social Network

David Fincher’s The Social Network was honored with three awards, including Best Picture of the Year, by the Online Film Critics‘ year-end survey of its members. (One of whom is myself.) The other two awards it takes home are Best Director and Best Adapted Screenplay, which was written by Aaron Sorkin.

The rest of the awards were pretty well spread out across a number of films. No one film, not even The Social Network, truly dominated the list. Joel and Ethan Coens’ True Grit received two awards: Cinematography was given to regular Coen brothers collaborator Roger Deakins while Supporting Actress was given to newcomer Hailee Steinfeld in an accurately described “breakout” performance.

Also given two awards was Christopher Nolan’s Inception: Original Screenplay to Nolan and Editing to Lee Smith, who has edited four films for the screenwriter/director.

The rest of the awards were spread out over six films, including The King’s Speech, Black Swan, Toy Story 3 and three others. The full total equals 13 awards given to 9 different films. The full list of winners is below:

Picture: The Social Network
Director: David Fincher, The Social Network
Actor: Colin Firth, The King’s Speech
Actress: Natalie Portman, Black Swan
Supporting Actor: Christian Bale, The Fighter
Supporting Actress: Hailee Steinfeld, True Grit
Original Screenplay: Christopher Nolan, Inception
Adapted Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network
Foreign Language Film: Mother
Documentary: Exit Through the Gift Shop
Animated Feature: Toy Story 3
Cinematography: Roger Deakins, True Grit
Editing: Lee Smith, Inception

Be First To Leave A Comment

Post Your Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.