Underground Film Journal

Grant Morrison


JLA: New World Order

I previously read and reviewed Morrison’s JLA: Rock of Ages, which collected issues 10-15 of the original series, while New World Order here is the first four issues, which was a revamp of the previously titled Justice League America.

The Invisibles: Apocalipstick

Since Morrison otherwise works on characters and material he has no final control over, The Invisibles is his chance to explore a world entirely of his own creations. Thus he fills the comic with all kinds of outlandish ideas, but at the same time Apocalipstick reads more like a collection of short semi-connected stories than a full cohesive package.

Fantastic Four: 1 2 3 4

After moderately enjoying two of Grant Morrison’s Animal Man books and one of his slim JLA collections, I was very interested in getting into this book since it was the first all-in-one collection of Morrison’s on my library tour of his work.

Animal Man: Deus Ex Machina

I guess I don’t understand the economics of the comic book industry that it can’t make an affordable collection of a 26-issue comic series, which is the number of issues Morrison worked on Animal Man. So instead of an all-in-one volume, Animal Man is broken up into three separate collections.

JLA: Rock of Ages

Even though JLA: Rock of Ages takes place within regular DC “continuity”–originally published in serial comics from in 1997-98–it’s as bizarre and foreign to someone who read DC comics as a teenager and picked this book up twenty years later.

Animal Man Vol. 1

Animal Man #6-9 gets unfortunately bogged down by some moronic DC company-wide crossover event called “Invasion” that absolutely ruins Morrison’s otherwise stellar story pacing and character development. It’s idiotic so-called “events” like this that have been dragging down the American superhero comic market, a strategy that makes me almost not recommend an otherwise stellar comic collection.