Underground Film Journal

Deborah Stratman

Deborah Stratman is a Chicago-based experimental documentary filmmaker and artist who focuses her works on landscapes and the relationships between physical environments. She currently teaches at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

She also works in other mediums, such as sound, drawing and sculpture

You can learn more about the filmmaker at her official website, Pythagoras Film.


Village, silenced (2011)
…These Blazeing Starrs! (2011)
Ray’s Birds (2010)
Shrimp Chicken Fish (2010)
FF (2010)
Kuyenda N’kubvina (2010)
O’er the Land (2009)
The Memory (2008)
The Magician’s House (2007)
It Will Die Out in the Mind (2006)
How Among the Frozen Words (2005)
Kings of the Sky (2004)
Energy Country (2003)
In Order Not to Be Here (2002)
Untied (2001)
The BLVD (1999)
From Hetty to Nancy (1997)
On the Various Nature of Things (1995)
Iolanthe (1995)
Waking (1994)
Palimpsest (1993)
In Flight: Day No. 2,128 (1993)
the train from la to la (1992)
Possibilities, Dilemmas (1992)
A Letter (1992)
Upon a Time (1991)
My Alchemy (1990)