Underground Film Journal

More » DVD Underground: Index

DVD Underground: The Films of James Broughton

Cover to DVD collection of films by James Broughton featuring an image of the filmmaker directing a scene

Official Description: Spanning a decades-long artistic career, the collected films of James Broughton represent a remarkable body of work by a leading avant-garde American filmmaker–an undisputed master of the fusion of spoken poetry with moving images. A poet and dramatist as well as a filmmaker, Broughton has transformed all three of these forms into what Stan Brakhage called “an art of lifelong montage.”

Distributor: Facets

Availability: Amazon


Disc 1: The Early Years

  1. The Pleasure Garden (1953)
  2. Mother’s Day (1948)
  3. Loony Tom (1951)
  4. Four in the Afternoon (1951)

Disc 2: A Middle Period

  1. The Bed (1968)
  2. The Golden Positions (1970)
  3. This Is It (1971)
  4. Dreamwood (1972)
  5. High Kukus (1973)
  6. Testament (1974)
  7. The Water Circle (1975)
  8. Erogeny (1976)

Disc 3: Finale: The Films With Joel Singer

  1. Songs of the Godboy (1977)
  2. Hermes Bird (1979)
  3. The Gardener of Eden (1981)
  4. Devotions (1983)
  5. Scattered Remains (1988)

You Might Also Like

• More Underground DVDs »