Underground Film Journal

Posted In » Underground Film News

2010 Melbourne Underground Film Festival: Award Winners

By Mike Everleth ⋅ September 1, 2010

Melbourne Underground Film Festival

The 11th annual Melbourne Underground Film Festival wrapped on Aug. 29 with a secret, illegal screening of Bruce LaBruce’s gay porn zombie epic L.A. Zombie, which would win LaBruce the Best Foreign Director Award.

The big winner this year, though was the debut feature film — and the official closing night film of MUFF — by Joseph Sims, Bad Behavior. Although Stuart Simpson‘s El Monstro Del Mar! won the Best Film award, Bad Behavior took home six awards total, including Best Director, Best Male Actor, Best Screenplay and more. The film is a splatter movie about a group of teenagers running afoul of psychopaths. Australia’s The Age newspaper also recently profiled Sims.

Other Australian films taking home awards were Dominic Deacon‘s Burlesque winning Best Guerrilla Film, Road Train by Dean Francis taking the Special Jury Prize and Lanfranchi’s Memorial Discotheque by Richard Baron winning Best Documentary.

American films in addition to L.A. Zombie winning awards were Julian Nitzberg’s The Wild and Wonderful Whites of West Virginia taking Best Foreign Film and the Underground Film Journal was especially pleased to see Ingrid Schram winning Best Female Actor – Foreign Film for her performance in Lev Kalman and Whitney Horn‘s Blondes in the Jungle, which was favorably reviewed on the site a few months ago.

Congrats to all the winners, which are listed in full below.


Best Film (presented by Canon)
El Monstro Del Mar!, dir. Stuart Simpson (Read the review)

Runner Up Best Film
Bad Behavior, dir. Joseph Sims

Best Director
Joseph Sims (Bad Behavior)

Best Male Actor
Lindsay Farris (Bad Behavior)

Best Female Actor
Nelli Scarlet (El Monstro Del Mar!)

Best Supporting Male Actor
Roger Ward (Bad Behavior)

Best Supporting Female Actor
Ellen Grimshaw (Bad Behavior)


Best Foreign Film
The Wild and Wonderful Whites of West Virginia, dir. Julian Nitzberg

Best Foreign Director
Bruce LaBruce (L.A. Zombie)

Best Male Actor – Foreign Film
Morten Ruda (Dark Souls) (Streaming Online)

Best Female Actor – Foreign Film
Ingrid Schram (Blondes in the Jungle)


Special Jury Prize
Road Train, dir. Dean Francis

Best Guerrilla Film
Burlesque, dir. Dominic Deacon (Read the review)

Best Documentary
Lanfranchi’s Memorial Discotheque, dir. Richard Baron

Best Cinematography
Stuart Simpson (El Monstro Del Mar!)

Best Screenplay
Joseph Sims (Bad Behavior)

Best Short Film
Dark Horse, dir. Marc Furmie
The Zimmer Gang, dir. Davis Thrussell

Runner Up Best Short Film
Carrot, dir. Tom Salisbury

Best Male Actor in a Short Film
Miles O’Neill (Carrot)

Best Female Actor in a Short Film
Alin Sumarwata (Dark Horse) & Vanessa De Largie (Crazy in the Night)

Best International Short
The Dandy Doctrine, dir. Jordan Baseman