Underground Film Journal

Posted In » Underground Film News

2009 Arizona Underground Film Festival: Award Winners

By Mike Everleth ⋅ November 11, 2009

Arizona Underground Film Festival

The second annual Arizona Underground Film Festival has announced its full list of award winners, which are all listed below. The festival gave a total of 14 awards to 15 films in categories such as narrative, documentary, horror and exploitation for both short films and features, plus several jury and audience awards.

The festival had a stellar second outing, too, greatly expanding on the number of films screened from its first year and breaking attendance records set previously. It’s really nice to see support for underground film growing like this.

Congratulations, of course, go to all the award winners, but I’m extra thrilled to see Zach Clark‘s phenomenal Modern Love Is Automatic, which I reviewed earlier this year, taking home the Narrative Feature award. It’s a very funny, smart and unique comedy that deserves every award it can get.

Plus, some of the other winning films, such as Evil Angel and Run! Bitch Run!, have been playing at several festivals I list on the Underground Film Journal that I hope I get a chance to check out someday. But, for now, here’s the list of winners:

Narrative Feature
Modern Love Is Automatic (Watch Online)
Dir: Zach Clark

Narrative Short
My Cousin’s Keeper
Dir: Tom Woodruff Jr.

Horror Feature
Evil Angel
Dir: Richard Dutcher

Horror Short
Dir: Mathieu Arsenault

Run! Bitch Run!
Dir: Joseph Guzman

Documentary Feature
Oh My God! Its Harrod Blank!
Dir: David Silberberg

Documentary Short
Severing the Soul
Dir: Barbara Klutinis

The Soil’s Soft Horizon
Dir: Adam Petke

Seven Corners
Dir: Todd Hemker

Music Video
Everything Burns
Dir: Aram Kouyoumdjian

Best of Fest
I’ll Do It Til The Day I Die!
Dir: Dale Peterson, Coleman Weinberg

Audience Award
La Funcionaria Asesina a.k.a. The Slayer Bureaucrat
Dir: Sergio Kardenas

Special Jury Award
Someone’s Knocking at the Door
Dir: Chad Ferrin
Honorable Mention
Doctor “S” Battles The Sex Crazed Reefer Zombies
Dir: Bryan Ortiz

Director’s Choice Awards
Cigarette Girl
Dir: Michael McCarthy

For more info, please visit the official Arizona Underground Film Festival website.