Underground Film Journal

Posted In » Underground Film News

2008 Austin Underground Film Festival: Official Lineup

By Mike Everleth ⋅ December 5, 2008

Stencil text logo for the Austin Underground Film Festival

So, the final underground fest of 2008 is upon us. The third edition of the Austin Underground Film Festival will run for one night only on Friday December 19 at 7:00 p.m. at the Salvage Vanguard Theater. Once again this is a short film only event and it looks as if festival director Andy Gately has put together yet another stellar lineup.

Several of names familiar to the Underground Film Journal’s regular readers, i.e. directors I’m a huge fan of, are included in the bunch. They are: Jon Clark, Jay Hollinsworth, Leah Meyerhoff and Andre Perkowski. Plus, there’s an old classic from Cinema of Transgression star Tessa Hughes-Freeland and two shorts by superstar animator Don Hertzfeldt. All told, there are over 30 short films to be screened. I think this is AUFF’s biggest year yet.

The full lineup is below. The night is split up into a music video “prologue,” followed by the short films. And, if all goes according to plan, I hope to have most, if not all the films reviewed before the big night. But, for now, here’s the lineup:

Music Prologue:

Video Art, dir. Jon Clark
Quicksand Under Carpet, dir. Jay Hollinsworth
Strange Magazine, dir. Frank Bochard
Kings of Power Four Billion Percent, dir. Paul Robertson
Falling From Mars, dir. Alyssa Suede
Rattle & Confuse Me, dir. James Oswald
Eternal Flame, dir. Leah Meyerhoff

Film Program:

Everything Will Be Okay, dir. Don Hertzfeldt
Muto, dir. Blu
La Pagina, dir. Ciro Altabas
Rabbit, dir. Run Wrake
Made in Japan, dir. Ciro Altabas
Musika, dir. Asier Urbietaren
The Life & Times of Drazen Paskaljevic, dir. Chris Bianchi
Film Noir, dir. The 313
Siyamo, dir. Mahmoud Rezi Sani
Restrospective Screening, dir. TBA
Future Shock, dir. James Brown
Soccer Time, dir. Edmond Hawkins
El Mago Manani, dir. Victor Dryere Pro
A Belly Full of Anger, dir. Andre Perkowski
Hemisfair, dir. Olivia Hinojosa and Yvonne Hernandez
Taxi, dir. Ian Schranz
Un Dia De Anibal, dir. Sergio Carvajal
Sk8boardin’, dir. Jeff Rubin
Baby Doll, dir. Tessa Hughes-Freeland
One-Eyed Don, dir. Byron Brown
The Cat Inside, dir. Andre Perkowski
Entracte, dir. Yann Gonzalez
Mulched Midnight Memories of Don Knotts, dir. Andre Perkowski
I Am So Proud of You, dir. Don Hertzfeldt

For more info, please visit the official AUFF site.

Dec. 19
7:00 p.m.

Salvage Vanguard Theater
2803 Manor Road