Underground Film Journal

Bruce Conner

Bruce Conner was a leading figure of the San Francisco underground film movement of the 1960s, and was a prolific artist, sculptor and filmmaker all the way up until his death on July 7, 2008.

While running a film society at the University of Colorado in the late '50s, Conner met the filmmaker Stan Brakhage who encouraged the artist to begin making films. Conner's first work, A Movie (1958), was — and continues to be — a groundbreaking and highly influential film comprised of entirely found footage, with the exception of repeating title cards.

Upon moving to San Francisco, Conner was an early and extremely vocal member of the Canyon Cinema underground film distribution company.

Conner continued to make primarily found footage films throughout his art career, although he also directed several original documentaries and other works.


Easter Morning (2008)
His Eye on Sparrow (2006)
Eve-Ray-Forever (2006)
Luke (2004)
Looking For Mushrooms (Long Version) (1996)
Television Assassination (1995)
America Is Waiting (1981)
Mea Culpa (1981)
Valse Triste (1978)
Mongoloid (1978)
Take the 5:10 to Dreamland (1977)
Crossroads (1976)
Marilyn Times Five (1968-1973)
Permian Strata (1969)
Looking for Mushrooms (Short version) (1967)
The White Rose (1967)
Report (1963-67)
Breakaway (1966)
Easter Morning Raga (1966)
Ten Second Film (1965)
Vivian (1964)
Cosmic Ray (1961)
A Movie (1958)