Underground Film Journal

Posted In » Underground Film News

2014 Milwaukee Underground Film Festival: Award Winners

By Mike Everleth ⋅ May 7, 2014

Abstract blue and green logo for the Milwaukee Underground Film Festival

The 2014 Milwaukee Underground Film Festival, which ran on May 1-4 at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and the Microlights Cinema, has announced their juror awards. The jury this year consisted of filmmakers Scott Stark, Diane Kitchen & David Witzling.

Nine awards were given out for films, videos, documentaries and even for expanded cinema performances. The big winners of the fest were Anja Dornieden and Juan David Gonzalez Monrov who took home the Best of Festival award for their sci-fi tale Gente Perra (Dog People).

Also, Roger Beebe‘s Historia Calamitatum (The Story of My Misfortunes), Part II: The Crying Game won for Best Personal Doc, which previously won an Honorable Mention at the Chicago Underground Film Festival in April.

The full list of winners is below:

Best of Festival
Gente Perra (Dog People), dir. Anja Dornieden & Juan David Gonzalez Monroy

Best Documentary
Let Us Persevere in What We Have Resolved Before We Forget, dir. Ben Russell

Second Place Documentary
Nile Perch, dir. Josh Gibson

Best Expanded Cinema
Second Hermeneutic, dir. Michael A. Morris

Best Experimental Video
Ice Survey: Tenney Park (Madison, Wisconsin), dir. Renato Umali

Best Experimental Film
Short, dir. Robert Todd

Best Essay
Will O’ the Wisp, dir. Andrew Kim

Best Personal Doc
Historia Calamitatum (The Story of My Misfortunes), Part II: The Crying Game, dir. Roger Beebe

Best Animation
Elsewhere, The Survivors, dir. Ali Aschman