Underground Film Journal

Posted In » Indie Film News

2011 Ann Arbor Film Festival Announces Jury

By Mike Everleth ⋅ January 13, 2011

The letter A logo for the Ann Arbor Film Festival

The 49th annual Ann Arbor Film Festival has announced their three-member jury panel who will be selecting award winners out of the over one hundred films that will be screening in competition this year. The awards, in total, add up to approximately $20,000 given out to competing filmmakers.

That jury consists of filmmakers Stephen Connolly, Rebecca Meyers and Travis Wilkerson. In addition to giving out the awards, each filmmaker will host a free public program of his and her work during the festival.

None of the jury members are strangers to AAFF. All have screened films at previous editions of the fest. Connolly’s non-fiction films have screened at three previous AAFF fests and this year he will screen the North American premiere of his latest film, Two Coronations, at his free public program.

Rebecca Meyers will screen her 2010 film blue mantle, which made its world premiere at the last Toronto International Film Festival. Travis Wilkerson will screen new work. Previously, his 2003 16mm film An Injury to One won an award at the 41st AAFF and has since gone on to be named one of the best avant-garde films of the past decade by the magazine Film Comment.

The 49th annual Ann Arbor Film Festival is set to run this year on March 22-27. Passes for the fest are already available for purchase. Prices are:

Full Festival Pass:
$95 | $80 AAFF members/students/seniors

Weekend Pass:
$55 | $40 AAFF members/students/seniors

Please visit the AAFF website to buy your passess.

Also, if you want to volunteer at the festival, send them an email on this page of their website.

Be First To Leave A Comment

Post Your Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.