Underground Film Journal

Posted In » Underground Film News

2010 Onion City Experimental Film And Video Festival: Official Lineup

By Mike Everleth ⋅ June 15, 2010

Poster for Onion City Experimental Film and Video Festival featuring a drawing of an onion

The 22nd annual Onion City Experimental Film and Video Festival is set to run in Chicago on June 17-20. That’s four nights of some of the best short-form experimental video from all over the world.

The festival opens with a real bang this year as it screens the 2010 Cannes Palme d’Or prize winner, A Letter to Uncle Boonmee, directed Thai filmmaker Apichatpong Weerasethakul, who actually studied filmmaking at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Other opening films are by Daïchi Saïto, Michael Robinson, Sharon Lockhart and more.

Throughout the fest there are also new works by several longtime experimental filmmakers, including Kenneth Anger, Dominic Angerame and Lewis Klahr; as well as films by media artists such as Stephanie Barber, Deborah Stratman, Thorsten Fleisch and Robert Todd. Plus, on the 20th, there will be a special tribute screening to the late JoAnn Elam, Chick Strand, and Callie Angell that will include films by Elam, Strand, Andy Warhol and others.

The festival will take place in several venues around Chicago, so you’ll want to check the official Onion City website for screening locations, ticket prices and more. But, below is the full lineup of films and videos screening this year:

June 17

8:00 p.m.: “Opening Night Program”
A Letter to Uncle Boonmee, dir. Apichatpong Weerasethakul
Cry Me a River, dir. Jia Zhang-ke
Ghost Algebra, dir. Janie Geiser
Trees of Syntax, Leaves of Axis, dir. Daïchi Saïto
Beauty Plus Pity, dir. Emily Vey Duke and Cooper Battersby
If There Be Thorns, dir. Michael Robinson
Podworka, dir. Sharon Lockhart

June 18

7:00 p.m.: “Group Show One”
Yanqui Walker and the Optical Revolution, dir. Kathyrn Ramey
Make It New John, dir. Duncan Campbell

9:00 p.m.: “Group Show Two”
Collision of Parts, dir. Mark Street
Ledo and Ix Go to Town, dir. Emily Carmichael
Whose Toes, dir. Barry Doupé
Traffic Patterns, dir. Gregg Biermann
Pleasant Special Friends Nice, dir. Pippa Possible and Crispin Rosenkranz
Navigators (Melting Chronons), dir. Van McElwee
Sweet Dreams, dir. Jeanne Liotta

June 19

4:00 p.m.: “Group Show Three”
Sound Over Water, dir. Mary Helena Clark
Lullaby, dir. Robert Todd
Seeking Sunlight, dir. Robert Todd
Shifted Horizon, dir. Seoungho Cho
Iceland Spar, dir. Alexander Stewart
giving, taking, dir. Jake Barningham
primordium, dir. Jake Barningham
ok, dir. Jake Barningham
concerning flight, dir. Jake Barningham
Fall Creek Road, dir. Robbie Land
Flyscreen, dir. Richard Tuohy
Legend of Nile, dir. Eytan Ipeker
Cloud, dir. Eytan Ipeker
The Universe, dir. Barry Gerson
Spillway Study/Carpe Diez, dir. Ross Nugent

7:00 p.m.: “Group Show Four”
Point Line Plane (for PP), dir. Simon Payne
Ich Will!, dir. Kenneth Anger
Wound Footage, dir. Thorsten Fleisch
Untitled Trilogy (Trilogia Sin Titulo), dir. Pablo Marin
firewaters, dir. Yoel Meranda
inscrivere, dir. Yoel Meranda
india, dir. Yoel Meranda
bsorb, dir. Yoel Meranda
Marching On, dir. Ichiro Sueoka
The Diamond (Descarte’ Daughter), dir. Emily Wardill

9:15 p.m.: “Group Show Five”
February, dir. Kyle Canterbury
Today, dir. Kyle Canterbury
Nov. Untitled, dir. Kyle Canterbury
Sahara Mosaic, dir. Fern Silva
The Secret School, dir. Marina Gioti
Thalé, dir. Barry Doupé
Nimbus Smile, dir. Lewis Klahr
Wednesday Morning 2AM, dir. Lewis Klahr
Burning Bush, dir. Vincent Grenier
May Tomorrow Shine the Brightest of All Your Many Days as It Will Be Your Last, dir. Ben Rivers
to the horse dream of arms, dir. Stephanie Barber
Iris Out, dir. Simon Payne
010101, dir. T. Marie

June 20

4:00 p.m.: “Group Show Six: In Memory of JoAnn Elam, Chick Strand, and Callie Angell”
Cartoon le Mousse, dir. Chick Strand
Lie Back and Enjoy It, dir. JoAnn Elam
Four of Andy’s Most Beautiful Women, dir. Andy Warhol
Shoulder, dir. Andy Warhol
Delphine de Oliviera, dir. Friedl vom Gröller (Kubelka)
Dark River, dir. Chi Jang Yin
Northport, dir. Adele Friedman
Somewhere Only We Know, dir. Jesse McLean
Ray’s Birds, dir. Deborah Stratman
Daylight + the Sun, dir. Karen Johannesen
Shutter, dir. Alexi Manis

6:30 p.m.: “Group Show Seven”
What Part of the Earth Is Inhabited (After Pliny the Elder), dir. Erin Espelie
The Exception and the Rule, dir. Karen Mirza and Brad Butler
non-Aryan, dir. Abraham Ravett
Scene 32, dir. Shambhavi Kaul
Album, dir. Kamal Aljafari
The Soul of Things, dir. Dominic Angerame
Wash + Shave, dir. Jonathan Schwartz

8:45 p.m.: “Group Show Eight”
India Shouting Match, dir. George Barber
Brune Renault, dir. Neil Beloufa
Sayre and Marcus, dir. Neil Beloufa
4′ 22″, dir. William Raban
Today! (chase scenes 63a, 63b), dir. Jessie Stead
This Is Very Good, dir. Jakub Vrba
Untitled Live Projector Performance, dir. Joe Grimm