Underground Film Journal

Posted In » Underground Film News

2010 Chicago Underground Film Festival: Award Winners

By Mike Everleth ⋅ June 30, 2010

Film festival poster featuring a drawing of a marshy field

UPDATE: CUFF has announced their feature award winners. Congrats to everyone!

Best Documentary Feature
Scrappers, dir. Ben Kolak, Brian Ashby, and Courtney Prokopas

Best Narrative Feature
Stay the Same Never Change, dir. Laurel Nakadate

Honorable Mention
Modus Operandi, dir. Frankie Latina

The 17th annual Chicago Underground Film Festival wraps up on July 1, but they’ve already announced their award winners. Although, as of right now, they’re still determining the Best Narrative Feature and Best Documentary Feature winners, but all the rest of the winners are listed below. I’ll update this post when the last two awards are announced.

And the winners are:

Made in Chicago Award
Fantasy Suite, dir. Kent Lambert (Watch online)

Best Animation
Everybody, dir. Steve Reinke and Jesse Mott

Best Experimental Film
L’Internationale, dir. Marianna Milhorat

Best Documentary Short
Sincerity: The Character of Ronald Reagan, dir. Chris Royalty

Best Narrative Short
Home Movie, dir. Braden King

Audience Award
Scrappers, dir. Ben Kolak, Brian Ashby and Courtney Prokopas

Honorable Mentions
Golden Hour, dir. Robert Todd
This Is My Show, dir. Lori Felker
Voice on the Line, dir. Kelly Sears

The jury this year consisted of Ross Nugent, the faculty advisor for the Milwaukee Underground Film Festival; filmmaker Spencer Parsons; and Brigid Reagan of the Video Data Bank.

And a few notes about some of the winners: You can actually watch the Made in Chicago winner, Fantasy Suite, right here on the Underground Film Journal, which is a fantastic and faintly disturbing meditation on modern romance. Also, Braden King’s Home Movie was made as part of Mike Plante’s Lunchfilm project, which I reviewed its screening at the 2009 AFI Film Festival.