Underground Film Journal

Posted In » Underground Film News

2008 Atlanta Underground Film Festival: Award Winners

By Mike Everleth ⋅ August 27, 2008

Red logo for the Atlanta Underground Film Journal

The fine folks over at the Atlanta Underground Film Festival have sent me their list of 2008 award winners, which you can check out below. The festival was held back on Aug. 20-24.  Congrats to all the winners, but I’m especially thrilled that some of my favorite films of this year have won awards. These include Joshua Von Brown winning Best Director for Altamont Now (Watch online), a film that is killing on the underground circuit this year. Also, Brian Lonano‘s awesome Attackazoids! won the award for Best Sci-Fi Short. Plus, over at the concurrent DocuFest 2008, Georg Koszulinski also won Best Director for the sad and beautiful Immokalee, USA.

The awards list below is broken into three sections. First are the main 2008 AUFF winners, followed by the DocuFest 2008 and the Animation Attack! 2008 awards:

2008 AUFF Award Winners:

Best Narrative Feature
Sex Galaxy
Dir. Mike Davis
(Watch Sex Galaxy streaming online)

Best Comedy Feature
Wiener Takes All
Dir. Shane MacDougall

Best Horror Feature
Blood on the Highway
Dir. Barak Epstein

Best Documentary Feature
Song Sung Blue
Dir. Greg Kohs

Best Foreign Feature
Dir. Rai Garcia

Best Local Feature
Loaded Guns
Dir(s). Eli Banks, Julian Modugno, Jamie Garr

Best Animated Feature
John’s Arm: Armageddon
Dir. Matty Boy Anderson

Best Director
Joshua von Brown
Altamont Now
(Watch Altamont Now streaming online)

Best Musical Score
More Shoes
Dir. Lee Kazmir

Audience Choice Award
1000 Journals
Dir. Andrea Kreuzhage

Best Short Film
God of Tears
Dir(s) Max Margulies and Naoko Masuda

Best Foreign Short
El Viaje de Said
Dir. Coke Rioboo

Best Narrative Short
The Adventure
Dir. Mike Brune

Best Experimental Short
An Indefinite Meandering of Words Left Unsaid
Dir. Lexi Lefkowitz

Best Sci-Fi Short
Dir. Brian Lonano
(Watch Attackazoids! streaming online)

Best Horror Short
A Break in the Monotony
Dir. Damien Slevin

Best Documentary Short
Returned: Child Soldiers of Nepal’s Maoist Army
Dir. Robert Koenig

Best Short Short
Dir. Voltaire

Best Local Short
Panels for the Walls of Hell
Dir. Blake Myers

2008 AUFF the Wall Award
Karaoke Show
Dir. Karl Tebbe

2008 DocuFest Award Winners:

Best Documentary
More Shoes
Dir. Lee Kazmir

Best Foreign Documentary
Un Poquito de Tanta Verdad
(A Little Bit of So Much Truth)

Dir. Jill Freidburg

Best Comedy Documentary
Wiener Takes All
Dir. Shane MacDougall

Best Drama Documentary
Calavera Highway
Dir. Renee Tajima-Pena & Evangeline Griego

Best Musical Documentary
Song Sung Blue
Dir. Greg Kohs

Best Director
Georg Koszulinski
Immokalee, USA

Most Inspirational Documentary
Love Limits
Dir. Thymaya Payne

Audience Choice Award
What Are We Doing Here?
Dir.(s) Brandon, Nicholas, Daniel & Tim Klein

Best Documentary Short
Heroes, No Hacen Falta Alas Para Volar
(Hero, Wings Are Not Necessary to Fly)

Dir. Angel Loza

Best Experimental Documentary Short
Dir. Joel Schlemowitz

Animation Attack! 2008 Award Winners:

Best Animated Short
Golden Age
Dir. Aaron Augenblick

Best Foreign Animated Short
Dir. Mathieu Labaye

Best Student Animated Short
God of Tears
Dir.(s) Max Margulies, Naoko Masuda

Best Local Animated Short
Dir. Em Kempf

Best Local Student Animation Short
Dir. Amanda Goodbread

Best Dramatic Animated Short
Germans in the Woods
Dir. Tim Rauch

Most Impressive Animation Technique
Dir. BLU

Animation Attack! Audience Favorite
Marvelous, Keen, Loony Bin
Dir. Lizzi Akana

You can also check out the list on the official AUFF site.